2016 Media Release



CONTACT: David Browne   (02) 9716 0378

26 October 2016

Celebration of Excellence

Friday 28 October 2016 is World Teachers’ Day and the Professional Teachers’ Council New South Wales (PTC NSW) seeks the support of the media in the recognition and celebration of our teachers and the teaching profession.

World Teachers’ Day is an important acknowledgement of the professionalism of teachers and their invaluable contribution to the future of our society through their professional teaching associations.

UNESCO first declared World Teachers’ Day in 1994. Since that time communities around the world have been honouring their teachers on this day.

“World Teachers’ Day is an opportunity to publically acknowledge the work of all teachers. It is also a time to express gratitude to the many volunteer teaching associations and show them how much they’re valued,” said Dr Denis Mootz, President of the Professional Teachers’ Council NSW.

“It is the opportunity for the community to reflect on and acknowledge the vital and challenging work that all teachers do” Dr Mootz said.

PTC NSW Patron – Professor The Honourable Dame Marie Bashir AD CVO joins us in celebrating this important day of recognition of teachers, World Teachers Day.  “Celebrated in over 100 countries, World Teachers’ Day acknowledges the efforts of teachers in an increasingly complex, multicultural and technological society. It is a day on which students, parents and community members can demonstrate their appreciation for the contributions that teachers have made and continue to make to the community. Across my lifetime, I have retained a lasting memory of those special teachers who guided and educated me, and who as a result of their passion and commitment to education inspired a lifelong desire to continue to learn. Teaching remains a critical component of how societies are created and grow. On this World Teachers’ Day, I urge parents to reflect on the incomparable influence of education, and how integral to the process of education teachers are. Dedicated and passionate about teaching, they provide professionalism of the highest level, and one that should be heralded for its value to societies across the world.

 I encourage all teachers to recognise the high importance of their role and how justifiably proud they can be.”

In recognition of the outstanding work teachers undertake through their professional teaching associations the Professional Teachers’ Council NSW established the prestigious Outstanding Professional Service Awards as an acknowledgment of excellence in the profession.

These awards recognise the outstanding professional contribution to education made by teachers through professional teaching associations.

 The Professional Teachers’ Council NSW is pleased to announce the recipients of the 2016 awards

 2016 Outstanding Professional Service Award recipients

First name Last Name Association
Sarah Jackson Australian Council for Health, Physical Education and Recreation
Clare Roden Australian Council for Health, Physical Education and Recreation
Andrea van den Bol Australian Society for Music Education NSW
Greg Baird Careers Advisers Association of NSW & ACT Inc
John Olovich Careers Advisers Association of NSW & ACT Inc
Garry Uebergang Classical Languages Teachers’ Association Inc
Amy Cotton English Teachers’ Association NSW
Viviana Mattiello English Teachers’ Association NSW
Vanessa Refalo English Teachers’ Association NSW
Grace Larobina Geography Teachers Association of NSW
John Lewis Geography Teachers Association of NSW
Paula Reed History Teachers’ Association NSW
Tracy Mackenzie ICT Educators NSW
Astrid Perdriau Institute of Industrial Arts Technology Education
Peter Thompson Institute of Industrial Arts Technology Education
Brendan Stolk Marine Teachers’ Association of NSW
Shirley Brady Mathematical Association of NSW
Cindy Cusack Mathematical Association of NSW
Tricia Forrester Mathematical Association of NSW
Fiona Boughey Modern Languages Teachers Association of NSW iNC
Kate Robertson Orff Schulwerk Association of NSW Inc
Glynne Krix Science Teachers’ Association of NSW
Louise Dark Society and Culture Association of NSW
Kathrine Kyriacou Visual Arts and Design Educators Association of NSW
Wendy Ramsay Visual Arts and Design Educators Association of NSW
Affiliate member category:
Scott Ryan Australian Band and Orchestra Directors Association

2016 Media Award

Sarah Duggan, Tempo Media