2014 Media Release



Media Release


CONTACT: Kim Tsolakis   (02) 97160378

29 October 2014

Celebration of Excellence

 Friday 31 October 2014 is World Teachers’ Day and the Professional Teachers’ Council New South Wales (PTC NSW) seeks the support of the media in the recognition and celebration of our teachers and the teaching profession.

World Teachers’ Day is an important acknowledgement of the professionalism of teachers and their invaluable contribution to the future of our society through their professional teaching associations.

UNESCO first declared World Teachers’ Day in 1994. Since that time communities around the world have been honouring their teachers on this day.

“World Teachers’ Day is an opportunity to publically acknowledge the work of all teachers. It is also a time to express gratitude to the many volunteer teaching associations and show them how much they’re valued,” said Denis Mootz, President of the Professional Teachers’ Council NSW.

“It is the opportunity for the community to reflect on and acknowledge the vital and challenging work that all teachers do” he said.

In recognition of the outstanding work teachers undertake through their professional teaching associations the Professional Teachers’ Council NSW established the prestigious Exceptional Service Awards and the Outstanding Professional Service Awards as an acknowledgment of excellence in the profession.

These awards recognise the outstanding professional contribution to education made by teachers through professional teaching associations.

 The Professional Teachers’ Council NSW is pleased to announce the recipients of the 2014 awards.


 2014 Outstanding Professional Service Award recipients:

Jennifer Curtis Asia Education Teachers’ Association


Kim Harper Australian Council for Health, Physical Education and Recreation


Kelly Bell Australian Council for Health, Physical Education and Recreation


Diane Hughes Australian Society for Music Education (NSW)


Heather Powell Classical Languages Teachers Association Inc


Milton Brown Geography Teachers’ Association NSW


Dennis Lendon History Teachers’ Association of NSW


Leila Achmad History Teachers’ Association of NSW


Jennifer Samild Kodaly Music Education Institute of Australia NSW Br


Denise De Paoli Marine Teachers’ Association of NSW


Pete Rundle Mathematical Association of NSW


Georgina Doukas Modern Language Teachers’ Association of NSW


Meagan Gadd PDHPE Teachers’ Association


Stuart Garth Science Teachers’ Association of NSW


Joanne Sim Science Teachers’ Association of NSW


Maxine Johnson Society and Culture Association NSW


Denise Perrin Visual Arts and Design Educators’ Association NSW