2012 Media Release



Media Release


CONTACT: Kim Tsolakis   (02) 9564 3322

25 October 2012

Celebration of Excellence

Friday 26 October 2012 is World Teachers’ Day and the Professional Teachers’ Council New South Wales (PTC NSW) seeks the support of the media in the recognition and celebration of our teachers and the teaching profession.

World Teachers’ Day is an important acknowledgement of the professionalism of teachers and their invaluable contribution to the future of our society through their professional teaching associations.

UNESCO first declared World Teachers’ Day in 1994. Since that time communities around the world have been honouring their teachers on this day.

“World Teachers’ Day is an opportunity to publically acknowledge the work of all teachers. It is also a time to express gratitude to the many volunteer teaching associations and show them how much they’re valued,” said Nerina Pretlove, President of the Professional Teachers’ Council NSW.

“It is the opportunity for the community to reflect on and acknowledge the vital and challenging work that all teachers do” she said.

In recognition of the outstanding work teachers undertake through their professional teaching associations the Professional Teachers’ Council NSW established the prestigious Exceptional Service Awards and the Outstanding Professional Service Awards as an acknowledgment of excellence in the profession.

These awards recognise the outstanding professional contribution to education made by teachers through professional teaching associations.

 The Professional Teachers’ Council NSW is pleased to announce the recipients of the 2012 awards.


 2012 Outstanding Professional Service Award recipients:

Terrence Haddow Asia Education Teachers’ Association
Alison King Australian Council of Health, Physical Education and Recreation
Michelle Maher Australian Council of Health, Physical Education and Recreation
Jennifer Robinson Australian Society for Music Education (Inc) NSW Chapter
Jeffrey Griffiths Careers Advisers Association of NSW & ACT Inc.
Barbara Twomey Classical Languages Teachers Association Inc
Alan Blackwood Drama NSW
Diana Amos Early Childhood Education Council of NSW Inc
Cathy Edwards English Teachers’ Association NSW
Di Lockhart English Teachers’ Association NSW
Lisa Peterson English Teachers’ Association NSW
Sharon McLean Geography Teachers’ Association of NSW
Philippa Medcalf History Teachers Association of NSW
Alfred Pickard History Teachers Association of NSW
Deborah Bourne ICT Educators NSW
Anne Taylor ICT Educators NSW
Rose Bloom Kodaly Music Education Institute of Australia NSW Branch Inc
Keith Thomas Legal Studies Association Inc
Geoffrey Stibbs Marine Teachers Association of NSW
Mary Coupland Mathematical Association of NSW
Ann Thomas Mathematical Association of NSW
Peta Harper Orff Schulwerk Association of NSW
Darren Hamilton PDHPE Teachers’ Association
Peter Henson PDHPE Teachers’ Association
Caron Baumgartner School Library Association of NSW
Ruth Dircks Science Teachers Association of NSW
Steven Baker Society and Culture Association Inc
Adrienne Fox Student Welfare and Personal Development Association of NSW
Katherine Waud Technology Educators Association of NSW